test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

AoRP Tanking

flamingbunnymanflamingbunnyman Posts: 2,035 Arc User
edited August 2013 in Builds and Roles
I'm looking at making a paladin-themed Hybrid role tank using Aura of Radiant Protection. I've never used AoRP before, and my usual reference - Mecha Teddy's scaling guide - has incomplete information on Auras, so I need some help.

How high can the Damage Resistance be pushed? With reasonably high Super Stats, can the Hybrid self buff compare favorably with Defiance or Invulnerability?

Would it be worthwhile to pick up IDF?

What Super Stats are going to be most helpful? I'm thinking of some combination of Con (HP for tanking, obviously), Dex (crits, for both attacks and heals) and Pre (for heals and the team portion of AoRP).

I'm a little concerned about energy management. I hate having to use my energy builder, so I usually build in such a way that I rarely, if ever, have to use it. I can't see a way to do that here.

I'm not sure which PSS and Sec trees would benefit me most. I'm used to tanking, but adding the support portion to the build is throwing me off.

I don't have a build to post yet, I'm still trying to work some things out. I'll add one later, once I've got a better idea where I'm going with it.

Comments

• jonesing4jonesing4 Posts: 800 Arc User
    edited July 2013
    What kind of attacks were you looking to use? With 'paladin' I assume HW, but I'm just curious.

As far as Energy management and SS choices, I usually get by just fine with crits by gearing for them and ignoring DEX. Yeah, you won't be able to get to 45% chance or anything, but it's very easy to get it to 30% or more, which should be sufficient for a tank. So maybe go with CON/PRE/INT or REC, then gear for crits.

Sadly, I can't help with the scaling questions, my AoRP guy is only 15. I don't see any reason why it shouldn't work, though. Won't be as capable as an Invuln/LR tank, but those are overkill for 90% of the content.