test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Not fully understanding Freeforms...help?

seanstanseanstan Posts: 23 Arc User
edited April 2013 in Power Discussion
I have been playing this game (on and off) for years, and have never touched the option of Freeform. I've always stuck to Archetypes because it's easier to do and doesn't require much learning like Freeform does. I'm interested in making a Freeform, because I've heard they can be much better in every aspect than Archetypes if they are built correctly, but that leaves the issue...I'll probably build one incorrectly if I try on my own.
How far can Freeform extend? If made correctly, could you have a hero that can be ready for any situation imagined through the use of multiple builds? As said, I'm new to Freeform, so keep it simple when explaining.
Post edited by seanstan on

Comments

• Options
    thearkadythearkady Posts: 337 Arc User
    edited April 2013
    seanstan wrote: »
    could you have a hero that can be ready for any situation imagined through the use of multiple builds?

Not really, you don't really get enough powers for that. But it's fairly easy to be able to switch between a more DPS oriented and a more defensive build by having two slotted passives if you want to.

Your best bet for your first freeform is deciding what you want from the character, either as a general concept (say, "super martial artist bitten by a radioactive toaster"), or wqith some specific ideas on stuff you'd really like to be part of the build (anything from "I'd really like power XYZ because the anim is so cool" to "I finally want a character that can melee Gravitar").

When you've decided, come back to this subforum for more specific build advice. Maybe if your idea is crazy enough people will have to tell you iit just can't be turned into a workable build, but more likely, some friendly build expert will come up with a build suggestion.
  • Options
    williamkonywilliamkony Posts: 582 Arc User