test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Suddenly: GPU doesnt support Effects? Please help!

Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
edited October 2012 in PC & Technical Issues
Ok theres something that has been bugging me for a few days now.

I started playing CO in february. but left to go play WoW for a few months and now im back. before when i played the game i could play with decent settings and effects running completely fine. and i still can. the problem now is suddenly my effects area is greyed out with the game stating that my GPU cannot support the "effects" (i.e. bloom, particles etc.) which i know isnt true because i see all the effects all the time on powers etc. i now simply cannot see bloom effects on my own character or others i assume. (eyeglows, armor glows, etc) They were NOT greyed out before.

and before you ask. yes i have updated the drivers. however the intel website is saying it DOES have a more up to date driver however it refuses to install it on my laptop because apparently and i quote: "A customized computer manufacturer driver is installed on your computer. The Intel Driver Update Utility is not able to update the driver. Installing a generic Intel driver instead of the customized computer manufacturer driver may cause technical issues. Contact your computer manufacturer for the latest driver for your computer." (which i did and i updated however that driver seems to no longer be updated. the last update for toshibas version is from like 2009....