test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Costume notes for CoX cousins and new players

cybersoldier1981cybersoldier1981 Posts: 2,501 Arc User
edited September 2012 in Champions Online Discussion
Hi. I'm Cybersoldier. I like costumes. Won't lie, I'm no pro. But what I will say is that one of the things that made me stick to CO like a booger on a dashboard is that the costumes and character creation is hands-down the best I've ever seen in an MMO. Hell, if a fantasy or science fiction game had this same level of character customization it'd be awesome.

As it's been said before, when you first start the game- you won't see all the costumes available. This is just to give you a basic toon and put you out into the tutorial. It's PWE/Cryptic's way of saying for Christ's sake, just put on a pair of pants and GO!. You'll need to get through the tutorial, at least, to see everything. Don't sweat that. It only takes a little while and it's not very hard. I think it takes at most like, 20 minutes. So, after that- you can pop over to the tailor and check out some more stuff and beef your dude/lady up to look more awesome. Oh, and you only have to do the tutorial once with your first character and any other character afterward can skip it.

At first you may feel a bit overwhelmed with the character creation once everything is unlocked. There's a lot there. Best thing I can tell you to do is make a flexible concept, like 'dark monster', 'hi-tech assassin', or whatever. Just keep it loosely in your head and close to your archetype or freeform power choices. Maybe it'd be a good idea to write down or remember more than one. Like, if you were using a Sword-weilder, maybe say 'ninja' or 'samurai' or 'assassin'. You might change your mind when you tinker with the options.