test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

State of the Melee or How the devs flipped me back to liking melee toons.

I've always generally preferred to play melee toons in games; if there's a choice between long range or close range, I tend to pick close range. However, due to the state of melee powers in CO when I started playing it the game steadily turned me more and more towards ranged characters. There were two main reasons for this:

1. Melee toons were leashed to their target. Wanna charge something? You need to be in your target's face both when you start and when you finish.
2. Combos felt awful. Mashing combos felt unrewarding because combos were weak and didn't really do anything useful.

Because of this by the time of Cryptic North just about all my toons were ranged - the exception was a might toon, and that was because might knocks were fun. Ranged toons were way more mobile than melee toons and did a much better job of satisfying my desire to use my WASD keys constantly in combat. They were also less frustrating to use - an NPC suddenly moving at the wrong microsecond rarely meant my charged ranged attack would fail. Fast forward to the modern day and all my top most favorite most fun toons are all melee again. For two specific reasons:

1. PBAoE melee moves that require no target letting me charge something as I'm approaching a target.
2. Combos are now all aoe, which makes them a lot of fun to spam while running through a pack of npcs. On top of that, combos now feel strong - many of them now do things that are very strong offensively and/or defensively.

It didn't even occur to me until very recently that this had happened, when I realized that my Might toon had become crazy fun again. Then I thought about it and realized that my melee toons are the ones that I really look forward to playing now. Even Bestial once I settled for the fact that this set is a bit more specialized in what it's good at.