test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Active Offense/Defense, Cognitive Dissonance, Please Explain

rajakajirajakaji Posts: 69 Arc User
I'm just having a hard time understanding the utility of these powers. They generally have a minute and a half cool down, and a duration of around 15 seconds. I just don't see how something that only gives you 15 seconds out of every 1:30 factors so heavily into so many build necessities. Granted, you can reduce the cooldown with Int, Specs, and Gear, but I doubt it would get to the point of being constant, or even 50/50.

Admittedly, I'm still a newb, so I'm pretty sure there's probably something I'm missing or misunderstanding. So if anyone would deign to assist with my understanding I would be appreciative.

Comments

• kallethenkallethen Posts: 1,576 Arc User
    IMO, I feel that it's worth considering grabbing an Active Defense power. They can provide a safety net when you find yourself in a pinch. I like to call them "Oh @#$%!!" buttons. Masterful Dodge, Unbreakable, Resurgence probably do this the best (and Field Surge if you have PFF as a passive).

Likewise, Active Offense powers allow you to have a burst of increased DPS. Like you say, it's a small burst with a long cooldown. However, if you are in a long lasting battle like a Cosmic or some of the end game lairs that small burst every so often can add up. They aren't worth using on trash mobs though. Personally, I don't rely on them a lot, but I have some characters that take advantage of an Active Offense.​​
    100% of the world is crazy, 95% are in denial.

Get the Forums Enhancement Extension!
  • rajakajirajakaji Posts: 69 Arc User