test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

PnP help! Power frameworks!

Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
Hello! i'm new to the Hero system (and i love it D:)

But i still did not understood how multipower and power frameworks work (eww. that sounded awful)

Multipower gives the player the power to.. do a power in the range of the power reserve ( ? )
but.. what about the... slots in the frameworks? i still did not get it <.<
Post edited by Archived Post on

Comments

• Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
    edited May 2012
    Alright, here's the lowdown. A Multipower is a way to reduce the cost of getting a lot of powers by making them at least partially mutually exclusive.

The points in the Multipower reserve limit how powerful any slot can be, and since you already paid for most of the active points in the power the slots are given a large discount depending on which level of exclusion you picked:

Fixed, the slot always takes up it's entire active points worth of the reserve even if you only use a little of it. This gets it's cost divided by 10, but remember that this is in addition to the reserve cost that you already paid for.

Variable, the slot takes up only as much of the reserve as you choose to use this phase. The cost of these slots are only divided by 5 to make up for the extra flexibility.

Multipowers are not cost effective unless you have at least two slots.

Powers with set effect levels like Desolidification don't make much sense as Variable slots, while other, highly situational, powers can be abusive if bought as Fixed slots.

Variable Power Pools, the framework you didn't mention, simply make it feasible to have a ton of different powers with the restriction that you can only have so many at once. This can get expensive if you want to change powers on the fly in combat.