test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Star Trek Online: Gate to Nowhere and Everywhere. (FanFic)

ryan218ryan218 Member Posts: 36,106 Arc User
edited January 2014 in Ten Forward
So, this is my first attempt at a Star Trek Online Fan Fiction. Feedback would be very much appreciated.

I've put in some references to my Role-Playing activities, but you won't need to know about them to understand what's going on.

Enjoy!

Star Trek Online: Gate to Nowhere and Everywhere.
By @ryan218
Lanco III, Location Unknown, Stardate Unknown.

A large ring sits within a large complex, linked to the walls and floor by cables. The ring is made from a white metal with curving lines and several strange alien symbols. A figure stands in a haze of white light, looking at it.

Suddenly, with a chilled, calm voice, the figure speaks, "The fire in which we burn."

Chapter One

Stardate: 91688.6. Sol System, Low Earth Orbit, McKinley Station.

In the station's massive arms, the large form of the Galaxy-Class Starship U.S.S. Victorious waits majestically, its nacelles dark and impulse engines offline as worker bees glide around, moving large tritanium hull plates over the saucer section as engineering teams remove the patchwork of emergency repairs that have been conducted on the starship over the last 2 months.

Meanwhile, the Yellowstone-Class Runabout U.S.S. Orwell approaches the main shuttlebay. Inside, the crew of two; Captain Ryan Allington and the Android First Officer Commander Alpha, sit chatting.

"We are currently 2 minutes from arrival, Captain." The pale-skinned Soong-type Android is the first to speak, in a cool, monotone voice.

"Thank you, Commander." Ryan speaks, mostly focused on the paper book he's reading.

"Sir... may I ask a question?"

Ryan sets the book down on the control panel, giving Alpha his full attention. "Shoot."

Alpha looks at him, puzzled. "Sir... what would be the purpose in arming weapons in this situation?"