test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Dipping my toes in the water...

arod7932arod7932 Member Posts: 2 Arc User
Hello everyone.

I am a long time veteran Neverwinter player and am interested in seeing what Star Trek Online has to offer. However, I was hoping some of you could inform me just a little bit about where the game's been, where it is, and where you think it's going. Comparisons to Neverwinter will help me understand much better, as I've gathered that Cryptic has a certain formula when it comes to MMOs. I'm just looking for a brief overview so I can know if the game would be worth investing my time into at this stage. I'd be playing on Xbox, and have had very little exposure to the Star Trek franchise, if that carries any weight. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    arod7932arod7932 Member Posts: 2 Arc User
    Funny, nerdSlayer just uploaded a Death of a Game episode on STO. All my questions have been answered now.
  • Options
    captainwellscaptainwells Member Posts: 718 Arc User
    arod7932 wrote: »
    Funny, nerdSlayer just uploaded a Death of a Game episode on STO. All my questions have been answered now.

After viewing that long winded essay, I appreciated hearing nerdSlayer admit that he was basically a Star Wars fan who also likes Star Trek. That realization had already come to me as I listened to him, but it was nice to have him mouth those words. To put his video in its proper perspective, if nothing else.

I do wish that some of the content rolled out by Cryptic wasn't always about flashy combat and featured a heavy emphasis on exploration or diplomacy. Imagine an occasional episode with the humor of say "Quark's Lucky Seven" that was instead built around solving a mystery and with zero combat. There are space anomalies that could prove difficult and/or dangerous to one's ship that needed a different solution than unloading a bunch of torpedoes and beam arrays to get past?

Let's see something like that too!
  • Options