test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Warp Effects and Ships

orionstarhunter#5913 orionstarhunter Member Posts: 6 Arc User
edited December 2023 in Controls and User Interface
So I've been playing STO off and on for about 4 years now.
Just recently started a new toon in the Discovery era and noticed something that I thought may apply to everyone.

While I am a fan of the 23c warp effect, it would be nice to change this option on a 25c toon so that it matches your ship.
Example:
I received the T6 Crossfield class ship through one of the Discovery lock boxes, and opened it on my main toon which is in the 25c.
When engaging the warp drive, the visuals and audio are that of 25c, and honestly looks silly with the Crossfield ship going to warp like the Enterprise from Next Generation.

What would be great is to change this so that it warps according to what we're used to seeing on the shows.
You could call it visual effects, and have it as an option in the settings under advanced tab.

Second, it would be nice to share the ships we have either bought or earned with our other toons on the same account. Being able to use my Crossfield with my 23c toon once they reach the rank of Fleet Admiral would be nice.

Anyone's thoughts on this are welcome, and I ask Cryptic to please consider this. The files are already stored on our system to accomplish this, and all it would take is menu option to enable these visual effects.

Thank you.
Post edited by rattler2 on

Comments

• Options
    arionisaarionisa Member Posts: 1,421 Arc User
    Ships that you buy from the C-store are claimable by all toons on your account of the proper faction. Ships attained from the Lobi store, lockbox, phoenix box ...... well, basically ships that you get from any source other than C-store are limited to the toon that opened the box to get the ship. It has always been that way and will likely never change.