test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

GeForce vs AMD vs no video card

mauricio#0588 mauricio Member Posts: 12 Arc User
Which is better to buy, apple MacBook pro 15 with amd 4gb for boot camp or any gaming PC laptop for 4 gb GeForce? But I wonder how many GB for full settings on video card graphic? Can it be without video card?? Razer blade stealth 13" have no video card but it has shared 16 gb, will that still works for games?? Star trek online said works better on Alienware. I wonder why? Since Alienware was the first founded then years later razer founded so I wonder razer is better or Alienware still better?? I'm no game expert but I want top best video card for full settings and I rather want MacBook but razer is same but not Mac-y. Hmm hard to thinking! What's your advice?

Comments

• tigerariestigeraries Member Posts: 3,492 Arc User
    as long as you can do DX10 and met the min specs your ok... higher the better.

NVidia GeForce 8000
    ATI/AMD Radeon HD 2000
    Intel G965M Express
    Intel HD Graphics 2000 or better

keep in mind, these specs are old and uses the min setting.

alienware doesn't run STO better... they just pay for product placement.
  • mauricio#0588 mauricio Member Posts: 12 Arc User
    Ok awesome thanks it make much easier to decide.
  • jaguarskxjaguarskx Member Posts: 5,945 Arc User
    Before you go out and make your purchase based on the above system minimum recommendation, let me give you a bit of information from my own personal testing of playing STO on 2 different laptops.

First of all, yes you can play STO with a laptop that has integrated graphics. However, they will not give what most people would consider good performance in STO and STO has relatively low system requirements compared to many other games. My Dell Inspiron 7559 has a quad core i5-6300HQ (Intel HD 530 integrated graphics core) and a GTX 960m.