test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Anyone else doing NaNoWriMo?

shevetshevet Member Posts: 1,667 Arc User
Just over an hour and a half before the annual festival of dodgy plotting and sore typing fingers begins, for me....

National Novel Writing Month (or NaNoWriMo), for those of you who didn't know, is a challenge which started in 1999 and has become an annual Internet-based event ever since. The object of the exercise is to write a novel over the course of November. A novel, for this purpose, is defined as a work of original fiction that's 50,000 words or more in length. Quality is - thankfully - not a requirement.

I've been doing this since 2003, myself, and it has been good for jerking chunks of inspiration out of my brain and onto the page. Whether any of the results are worth reading... well, that's not for me to judge, really! But it's been interesting, challenging, sometimes frustrating, often tiring, and a lot of fun.

So, I'm wondering if anyone else around here is doing it this year? I will be glad to cheer you on, or commiserate with you, if you are!
8b6YIel.png?1

Comments

• Options
    khan5000khan5000 Member Posts: 3,007 Arc User
    I'm doing it this year. I'm basing my novel on a story about my characters in the game.
    Your pain runs deep.
    Let us explore it... together. Each man hides a secret pain. It must be exposed and reckoned with. It must be dragged from the darkness and forced into the light. Share your pain. Share your pain with me... and gain strength from the sharing.
  • Options
    Well, that sounds like a good idea to me! Fair winds, smooth seas and swift typing to you.
    8b6YIel.png?1
  • Options
    Thanks...you too
    Your pain runs deep.
    Let us explore it... together. Each man hides a secret pain. It must be exposed and reckoned with. It must be dragged from the darkness and forced into the light. Share your pain. Share your pain with me... and gain strength from the sharing.
  • Options