test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

More like DDO or Guild Wars, or something else?

Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 5,050,278 Bounty Hunter
edited June 2011 in General Discussion (PC)
It may be too early for the devs to release details, but I feel like I'm still not getting what they are going for with this game. I'll admit I'm new to this specific community, so maybe I just haven't been around long enough to know the answers to my following questions. but I read the IGN interview and the FAQ, and it seems pretty thin on hard facts so far.

I played the old cRPGs like Baldur's Gate, I played NWN and the expansions, and I built my own adventures with the toolset, ran campaigns as a DM and played the campaign multiplayer over the internet.

I've also played many MMOs, including D&D Online and Guild Wars, neither of which are your "typical" WoW-style games.

It sounds like this is set to be an online-only, persistent world version of NWN, except real-time only, without the tactical pause/plan style of combat.

But are there going to be taverns where I'll go to buy supplies and I'll see 20 or 100 other players from around the world? Will there be "quest hubs" like in WoW? Will all the dungeons and sewers be instanced, like Guild Wars?

Will items be restricted in availability, with common, rare, and epic loots that are bound to your toon? Or will I be able to use the Foundry to make a Monty Hall dungeon like I could in NWN where everyone can go to stock up on the phatest overpowered gear imaginable?
Post edited by Archived Post on

Comments

• Archived PostArchived Post Member Posts: 5,050,278 Bounty Hunter
    edited June 2011
    Philomorph wrote: »
    Will items be restricted in availability, with common, rare, and epic loots that are bound to your toon? Or will I be able to use the Foundry to make a Monty Hall dungeon like I could in NWN where everyone can go to stock up on the phatest overpowered gear imaginable?