test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

In praise of this game (and why I left ESO for Neverwinter)

Okay, so this is going to be a long post, but I just wanted to give the developers some kudos for this great game and explain why I prefer it to so many other MMO's out there, particularly Elder Scrolls Online(ESO)--from whence I came, after having played that game since launch. While I know it's always fashionable to complain and moan about a game on its forums, I wanted to take some time to detail all the things this game does RIGHT. Granted, I've only played this game for a few weeks, but there is still so much I've seen that impresses me compared to ESO and most other MMO's I've played.

Here are the big things this game does RIGHT, and the big reasons I prefer it:

1) As a newb, I don't feel hopelessly behind in this game.

In ESO and most other MMO's, it can take months (or even years) for a casual newb to reach end-game content. And the "grind" to end-level is a NIGHTMARE. I've played ESO since launch and I *STILL* feel hopelessly behind in the game. If you're not playing 10 hours a day and buying every expansion that comes out, you're ALWAYS hopelessly behind. And your guildies treat you like dirt if you don't have the latest expansion pack and the new Super Awesome Helm of Something that you can only get by grinding the new Super Hard Dungeon of Woe about a million times.

In this game, I've never felt that end-game is hopelessly out of reach. Level progression so far has been quite reasonable, even after level 60. Everyone complaining about the 60-70 "grind" in NW has obviously never experienced the grind of doing Vet levels in ESO. Imagine grinding every day for a week and barely seeing your level progression bar move. Now THAT's a grind.

2) The coop and PvP elements of this game are fun, rewarding, and easy to get into.