test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Question of Ice

missrosa99missrosa99 Posts: 1 Arc User
edited April 2012 in Class Discussion
First of sorry if I posted this in the wrong section.

Hi I'm new to the game and I'd like to be an Ice Element Distance Damager can anyone tell me which of the two is more PVE suited for Questing and Teaming - a Frost Mage or Glacial Priest. ?
Post edited by missrosa99 on

Comments

• missrosa99missrosa99 Posts: 1 Arc User
    edited April 2012
    Thank you so much for moving my post to the right spot ^^
  • Axym - LionheartAxym - Lionheart Posts: 1,484 Arc User
    edited April 2012
    Never really played either so this is as a "other team member" pov

Ice mage.

Glacial priest is more cc/pvp as I understand it. Ice mage is too, but you have more pve team capabilities as people would rather have full healing priests (divine) over glacial in most situations.

However, as an aoe, I don't party with mages very often anymore so I don't know what the general opinion of ice mages are outside of arena. In arena apparently they are OP.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    As long as I'm captain, the rum shall never be gone.
    tinyurl.com/FWEmotes courtesy of Deltatroopa
  • Unbrokenable - LionheartUnbrokenable - Lionheart Posts: 313 Arc User
    edited April 2012
    They can both work but I guess the distinguishing point:

Glacial priests have stronger slow and mana drain ablity, where ice mages can actually "freeze" a target. Glacials can still stun, ensnare, and interrupt but it isn't quite the same. In terms of actual DPS I'm not sure which is better.

For PvP, the transform, ice-block, and mana shield abilities of the ice mage make them a lot better in saving themselves from would-be attackers.
  • ixthuaixthua Posts: 128 Arc User
    edited April 2012